“Management is doing things right; leadership is doing the right things.” – Peter F. Drucker

Image

Positive Quote: “Management is doing things right; leadership is doing the right things.” – Peter F. Drucker

 

There are so many books in the market touting how to be a better manager or how to be a better leader. There is some value in all of them. I guess what strikes me the most is that there are so many books on the subject. It could be because there are some pretty mediocre managers and leaders out there. Yet, if as managers and as leaders we think we are on the right track, why do we invest heavily in reading the books? Is it because somewhere, deep down we “feel” like we can improve?

 

I know I am not the best manager or leader in the world. I have flaws and areas that need improving. I admit I too buy leadership books on a fairly regular basis. Over the years of learning, growing, reading, leading, and following I have found my leadership style, or voice. I also know that in five years, my voice will have changed with age. I don’t know what it will look like, yet I know it will be different. If I don’t grow as a leader, then I am not a leader. Weird, right? Yet it makes sense to me.

 

This reminds me of a book I read awhile back by John Maxwell. I’ve read John Maxwell’s books and seem to get a few good nuggets out of them, even though he is not my favorite author, he would be in my top 50 for business books. Anyway, the book is titled “Developing the Leader Within You” and it has one powerful nugget that I continue to remember and remind myself about. It defines leadership… yes, an actual definition. In this book the definition of leadership is …… drum roll please….. the definition of leadership is Influence, yes influence. All the other words you can use to describe leadership can be categorized as influence. I like that, it resonates with me.

 

What does this quote make you think of?

 

Have a wonderful Wednesday y’all.

Priscilla

One thought on ““Management is doing things right; leadership is doing the right things.” – Peter F. Drucker

  1. Pingback: Christmas-time Reading | prosperosworld.com

Leave a Reply

