“It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed.” – Theodore Roosevelt

ImageImage

Positive Quote: “It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed.” – Theodore Roosevelt

 

I chose two pictures for today. I couldn’t decide between the two, as they both resonated the meaning of the quote for me.

 

Which picture do you think reflects the meaning of the quote more?

 

Failing or not succeeding is a huge punch to the ego. No one likes to not succeed. Yet, isn’t it considered failing if we don’t at least try?

 

This quote reminds me of my children. A few years ago I was getting frustrated with hearing the words “I Can’t” coming from them. It seemed nothing that I said made a difference. So, I started charging them for the words. It started out small, I charged a quarter. We all know that quarters can add up quickly. Well, anytime they said “I can’t” they had to pay me a quarter or try to do the thing they said they couldn’t do. At first they paid me, my son more than my daughter, but they were pretty close. After awhile of them running out of quarters and having to break dollar bills, the times they said the words grew less and less. I think it only lasted about 3 months or so. I don’t charge them now, all it takes is a look and they remember and try. The times are so few and far between; it is more like a reminder than anything else.

 

Some of the things that my kids learned they can do are: their own laundry, vacuum, wash dishes (including knives), open up a brand new gallon of milk and pour it themselves, cook, check the mailbox at the front of the driveway, take the cans to the curb on pickup day, and the list goes on and on.

 

The funny thing is, doing this with my children helped me to not say “I can’t” because they sure do let me know very clearly how those are not the words I should be using. I think that if it is mutually respectful a family can help each other be accountable, grow, and try new things without using the word can’t.

 

What do you think of when you read this quote?

 

Have a wonderful Wednesday and let’s see what we can do.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

