“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.” – Mark Twain

Image

Positive Quote: “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.” – Mark Twain

 

How true this quote is.

 

When I look back 20 years ago to the 20’something person that I was, I don’t have regrets per se. However, I do have things that I would have liked to have done.

 

I would have liked to have learned how to….

  • Drive a stick shift
  • Do the Texas two step (yes, I am from Texas and have not learned that)
  • Play a musical instrument
  • Write and read a foreign language
  • Sew
  • Ride a bike (I never learned or been on one)

 

The good news is that when I look back, the things I would have liked to do are minor compared to the things I have accomplished in 20 years

 

I have:

  • Had two children, who I could not imagine not having in my life
  • Moved from California to Texas to North Carolina to Illinois (St. Louis area)
  • A wonderful career I am proud of
  • A fabulous family back in Texas
  • Great friends who stand by me through thick and thin
  • A cute dog, named Bryson who we rescued from a local shelter
  • A spouse who is amazing, wonderful, and challenges me to grow and be a better me
  • Let my inner geek come out; I’ve been to both ComicCon and DragonCon and would love to go to more
  • A voice, I know I am special and important
  • Helped others grow and been a positive influence

 

Looking at the two lists, the second brings a smile to my face. The first list, well, my priorities have changed over the years and while I would have liked to have learned them then, I don’t have a huge draw to learn them now. Well… maybe one or two. J

 

What does this quote make you think of or remember from the past?

 

I hope y’all have a tremendous Thursday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

