“You cannot always control circumstances, but you can control your own thoughts.” – Charles Popplestown

Image

Positive Quote: “You cannot always control circumstances, but you can control your own thoughts.” – Charles Popplestown

 

This is something I focus on each day. It is so easy to deflect and push our emotions onto others. I have to remember to ask myself (not out loud of course) if what I think the person is or isn’t doing is really what is happening or am I shifting how I feel and letting it color what they are doing.

 

More often than not, it is all within me. I could be tired, having not had a good night’s sleep and it colors my focus by my having less tolerance or patience. Or, I could have been frightened when I heard a loud crash from the other end of the house. When I investigate and see a bookcase half falling (yes, this happened to me about 4 years ago) I might ask (demand) to know what one of my children was doing; when I should have been asking if they were ok first.

 

For me, these moments are a part of life. The good news is, as the quote mentions, we can control our thoughts and ultimately our reactions to circumstances.

 

Hopefully, when my children look back on their childhood, I hope they remember the times when I did control my thoughts and actions and was more supportive versus the few times I was in the deep end of the pool.

 

What do you think of when you read this quote?

 

Have a fabulous Friday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

