“You have to perform at a consistently higher level than others. That’s the mark of a true professional. Professionalism has nothing to do with getting paid for your services.” – Joe Paterno

Image

Positive Quote: “You have to perform at a consistently higher level than others. That’s the mark of a true professional. Professionalism has nothing to do with getting paid for your services.” – Joe Paterno

 

I struggled a little with choosing a quote for today. I was looking for one a little more, well, just more. I kept coming back to this one on professionalism.

 

What is professionalism? A part of me agrees with Joe Paterno and the above quote. I do tend to go full steam ahead from time to time. However, another part of me sees the softer side of professionalism in how we treat others; demonstrating kindness, caring, and compassion while having the drive and passion to complete tasks and help build a better something.

 

I don’t know, I guess I am still working my way through the various layers of professionalism. It can mean so many different things to so many people. Ultimately, a main factor is culture. Each company has it’s own specific culture which would help define values and principles.

 

I do know that part of the reason I wanted to have a career at the bank, was the values, culture, and commitment to help others. When I was doing my research during my job hunt, I clearly remember reading a news article on the bank where the bank had volunteered and worked with the Salvation Army to setup an app to help schedule Santa’s during Christmas. I guess you could say, the bank had me at “Ho – Ho” (a corny joke I know).

 

So what goes through your mind when you read this quote?

 

Have a marvelous Monday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

