Happy Halloween – quotes by Mark Twain and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Sr.

Image 

 “Everyone is a moon and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody.” – Mark Twain

 

 Image

“Where there is no imagination there is no horror.” – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Sr.

 Image

 

In honor of Halloween I decided to forgo traditional quotes and go more for quotes that can relate to Halloween. I could not decide between the two which I liked better.

 

Mark Twain’s quote on everyone having a dark side that they don’t show to anyone resonates with me. There are times when I view my past childhood as a dark side. As a child I could not control the environment of abuse I lived in. I rebelled like crazy, running away, getting caught up with the wrong crowds, and other not so healthy stuff. By the time I was a freshman in high school, I decided that only I could impact my world and I became more assertive of demanding something better for myself. For the longest time, my past was like the dark side of the moon; I did not share it with anyone and avoided all kinds of questions people would ask about my upbringing. I became a master at changing the subject and diverting attention away from myself. This made it difficult for me to make close friends as a part of me was hidden and locked away. Thankfully, I have gotten better at opening up, I started small and am now at a point where my past is a part of who I am, it helped mold me into the me I am today. I have come to accept this over the years and be open to sharing my story with others. Now don’t get me wrong, I still have moments where something will trigger a bad memory and I may withdraw to recoup myself. As the years pass, these get to be fewer and fewer. Yet, for me, it is good for me to remember my past as it helps shape my present and my future.

 

Moving on to Sir Arthur’s quote on where there is no imagination there is no horror. I see this as more of a balance. With imagination can come the great, happy, wonderful things and on the flip side, there can be the ugly, twisted, and horrific. I am a visual person by nature. I like to see things to conceptualize and brainstorm. I use a pad of paper and dry erase board like crazy. It helps me get things in more perspective. Yet, sometimes, I may have some freaky stuff come out of my head. For example, one day my husband and I were talking about something on TV and the music came on where you know something bad is going to happen next (predictable)… well he guessed something like kidnapping while my mind went down the path of assault or murder. I guess I took it up a notch in severity. Maybe that is why my husband and I keep each other in balance. We can throw all possible outcomes out there, settle on one in the middle somewhere and move on. I have found it helps me look towards the positive in things; just knowing the best that could happen and the worst that can happen help me lean towards the best and be optimistic.

 

As for Halloween; it is my second favorite holiday after Christmas. We decorated inside and outside the house. We even had a Halloween party last weekend that was a blast. We live in a town that has an annual Halloween parade (floats and all) and in our neighborhood we get around 200 kids trick-or-treating. Seeing all the costumes, weirdness, and enjoying the decorations is a very pleasant way to spend an evening.

 

I hope everyone has a terrific Thursday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

