“Anyone can steer the ship, but it takes a leader to chart the course.” – John C. Maxwell

Image

Positive Quote: “Anyone can steer the ship, but it takes a leader to chart the course.” – John C. Maxwell

One of the main reasons I like this quote is that it clearly helps define the difference between tactical leadership and strategic leadership. Both types of leadership styles are necessary for success. However, at times it can be hard for a tactical leader to develop into a strategic leader.

 

Early in my career I was considered a tactical leader. When given a task or a goal, I tackled it. I saw the trees and not the forest. It took me a few years, some good mentors, and a few times of knocking my head against a wall to start learning the difference. I even attended an AMA (American Management Association) course on transitioning from an operational leader (tactical) to a strategic leader. The good news is, once you get it, you get it. As a strategic leader it is more about how what we do impacts the future and what that future should be; each decision should be weighed against future goals.

 

I do know that there is still so much for me to learn. It is good for me to know that there are people I can reach out to for their guidance and thoughts when I get stuck or when I just want to bounce ideas around.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a fabulous Friday and remember to set your clocks backward this weekend.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

