“Leadership consists of nothing but taking responsibility for everything that goes wrong and giving your subordinates credit for everything that goes well.” – Dwight D. Eisenhower

Image

Positive Quote: “Leadership consists of nothing but taking responsibility for everything that goes wrong and giving your subordinates credit for everything that goes well.” – Dwight D. Eisenhower

 

I have come to think of myself as being a buffer as a leader. It goes both ways.

 

On one side of things I am a buffer for my people. For example, say there is a debate going on about a change in policy and a lot of negative things get discussed. In the end, the decision is made to change the policy. When I go back and inform my team of the new policy, I will not rehash any negativity. I would explain the benefits and what they can expect as well as how it may impact them. By being this buffer for them, it eliminates the potential of creating an atmosphere of negativity.

 

On the other hand, I am a buffer for my upper leadership. I believe that one of my jobs is to handle customer complaints and escalations at my level or below and to prevent them from going further. That is why I try to ensure that my team and I are truly embedded in a customer service mindset. Most people who have complaints or who escalate issues do so (in my opinion) because they believe they are not being treated fairly or receiving the service level they expect. One of the simplest things you can do to address concerns is to listen (openly, without judging) and to do what you commit to doing. If you say you will contact them (follow up) in a day, do it, don’t wait a week. Even if the issue is not fixed, keeping the customer updated goes a long way towards them knowing you are doing everything you can to help them.

 

What do you think of when you read this quote?

 

Have a marvelous Monday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

