“The genius of a good leader is to leave behind him a situation which common sense, without the grace of genius, can deal with successfully.” – Walter Lippman

Image

Positive Quote: “The genius of a good leader is to leave behind him a situation which common sense, without the grace of genius, can deal with successfully.” – Walter Lippman

 

Early on in my career I felt like I had to be there all the time, that I had to be involved in decision making and the minutia. It was exhausting.

 

I can clearly recall just a few weeks after I was a new leader in a corporate environment (which is so different from being a leader in a retail environment) a fellow manager made a comment that I was a good team leader. Suffice to say that did not go over very well with me. However, it did have the impact on me to stop and reassess my leadership style. One of the areas I needed to work on was delegation. That it was ok to delegate and know that just because someone did not do it the way you would have did not mean it was wrong.

 

Fast forward to the present and I laugh at myself at how naïve I was about leadership. You actually get more done and can focus on future things if you delegate. Delegation is also a great way to stretch people and give them the ability to grow and develop as well.

 

One of the ways I try to not get pulled back into the cycle of doing it all is that I ask people what would they do or what do they think and then I tell them that I support their decision and to come to me with any road blocks or questions. Yes, sometimes it means things get done slower than if I had done them….. but then ….. how would people grow?

 

For me…. I feel like I am a leader and that I am on the right track when I can step away from work for a day, days, a week…. and the wheels stay on the bus.

 

 

What do you think of when you read this quote?

 

 

 

Have a terrific Wednesday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

