Positive Quote: “The single biggest way to impact an organization is to focus on leadership development. There is almost no limit to the potential of an organization that recruits good people, raises them up as leaders and continually develops them.” – John Maxwell

Image

Positive Quote: “The single biggest way to impact an organization is to focus on leadership development. There is almost no limit to the potential of an organization that recruits good people, raises them up as leaders and continually develops them.” – John Maxwell

 

 

I like this quote because not only does it reflect one of the many things I love about leadership; growing people…. It resonates with the leadership principles at the bank.

 

This also reminds me of an example from my prior life…..

 

I was a manager over a team that assisted store callers with issues related to the legacy store software that ran everything; point of sale, inventory, ordering, receiving, you name it; needless to say, as with most legacy systems there were quirks and issues.

Well, a few months after I had been leading the team a fellow manager who was over the team that handled the calls on the hardware components in the store mentioned in a leadership staff that he had a long tenured employee that he was less than satisfied with and that he believed would not ‘make it’. I knew this person and I knew they had a strong drive, hard work ethic and a desire to do a good job. So, I negotiated a trade. I knew someone on my team that wanted to broaden their skills and learn hardware … I took a chance and did the switch. Looking back, I will say that in the beginning it was a huge learning curve for this person… however I do smile when I know that today not only has she thrived but she has gone on to receive additional promotions and increasing levels of responsibility and is seen as a leader in the department.

 

Do I think it was all me? Absolutely not…. I do think that sometimes you have to pull someone out of their comfort zone and stretch them. You would be amazed at the results. I personally think it was all her. She decided she wanted to do more, be more, and achieve more. I was there to listen and give feedback. She did all the work.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a fabulous Thursday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

