“We often take for granted the very things that most deserve our gratitude.” –Cynthia Ozick

Image

Positive Quote: “We often take for granted the very things that most deserve our gratitude.” –Cynthia Ozick

 

My mind is focused on Thanksgiving. Today I will bake some pumpkin pies and make sure I have everything for cooking tomorrow. This means some last minute runs to the grocery store and other such errands. Maybe even a movie to relax this evening with the family.

 

I have found that I seem to be trying to get the most of two holidays in this week; Thanksgiving and Christmas. The house is in a small state of chaos with a half decorated tree and mantle. I have to unpack the Christmas village too.

 

I have my son visiting for the week from North Carolina where he lives with his father. Then for Christmas, my daughter (who lives with me) will spend a week with her father and brother in North Carolina; hence, trying to have a little bit of both holidays in one. Some may read the sentence before this one and ask why, why are the children split…at least I find myself explaining to people when I get into discussions about my children. What it all boils down to is that my ex-husband and I have legal joint custody and we wanted to avoid a legal fight over who gets the kids as if they were property. So….. we left it in their hands. We let the children decide where they wanted to live and we let them know they could change their mind at any time. There you have it…. It works for us and it makes me extremely thankful for the time with my son and extremely thankful for the time with my daughter as I see her grow from a child to teenager to a young adult. She keeps me grounded. I am also thankful for Skype. Skype lets me talk to my son over the miles while I wait for the next holiday to roll around.

 

Life is not perfect, yet how we decide to react to it makes it what it truly is. So now I leave y’all and have to get ready for some baking.

 

Have a great Wednesday.

Priscilla

 

Leave a Reply

