“A culture of diversity and inclusion thrives when people with unique perspectives work together to achieve common goals.” – Candice Barnhardt

Positive Quote: “A culture of diversity and inclusion thrives when people with unique perspectives work together to achieve common goals.” – Candice Barnhardt

 Image

 

One of the main reasons I like this quote is that it helps me step back and think about what diversity and inclusion mean to me. For me, diversity should be embedded in who we are, it should be a given not something we have to think about.

 

I was raised as a child in southern California. I lived there until my sophomore year in high school. I also had the opportunity to live off base for several years and on base for several others; base meaning Camp Pendleton. I was a military brat. During my time in California, life was life, people were people and as a child growing up I did not think anything of it, it just was. Then I moved to southern Texas, I missed the hodge podge that was California. Yes, there were different kinds of diversity, yet not what I was used to in California. Then I moved to North Carolina, even different types of diversity.

 

At first I thought that California had the most diversity, until I started to realize that diversity is not a single component, it is across all areas of life. There is race, religion, gender, financial, cultural, and so many others that are not as cut and dry like life experiences, interests, knowledge, personality types…..

 

So for me, life is diversity, you just have to accept people for who they are and know it is ok to be you.

 

What do you think?

 

Have a fabulous Wednesday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

