“We work to become, not to acquire.” – Elbert Hubbard

Positive Quote: “We work to become, not to acquire.” – Elbert Hubbard

 Image

I like this quote; it helps to remind me that acquiring things should not be a core focus for me. I want to become a better me.

 

It is easy to get caught up in the acquiring mode. I have a favorite fiction author and one goal I have is to own all her books. Granted, I do re-read them quite frequently when I need to just relax and let my mind drift. Yet, there may be an author I like and don’t quite like other things they write, in those cases I should and more often than not do get rid of those books by either donation or recycling back to a used book dealer. I know this is only one type of acquiring. Yet, I will continue to ask myself before I acquire the whys of it because more often than not, it is linked to my past and not my future. The future is about becoming to me and acquiring can be linked to the past.

 

Those are my thoughts on this quote. What do you think?

 

Have a terrific Tuesday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

