“What a severe yet master artist old Winter is…. No longer the canvas and the pigments, but the marble and the chisel.” – John Burroughs

Image

Positive Quote: “What a severe yet master artist old Winter is…. No longer the canvas and the pigments, but the marble and the chisel.” – John Burroughs

 

It would be a mighty long text to include the complete quote from John Burroughs. I like the part that is pulled out.

 

When I think of the seasons, winter is the harshest one for me. Perhaps it is because I grew up in warmer climates and never saw snow for the first time until my 20’s. Whatever the case may be, winter for me is cold, harsh, dangerous and most of all strikingly beautiful.

 

The untouched snow on the ground, on tree limbs, and the shape and form icicles make on roofs and ledges. The air is crisper and it makes the night come a bit faster in my opinion.

 

I think my mind is wandering to winter because of the recent storms in the St. Louis area. The superintendent of my daughter’s school emailed saying this is the worst (and coldest) storm front in 20 years. There were lows in the negative double digits and snow by the foot. A few days passed and last night we received more snow. It is like a welcome to winter message for all to hear.

 

What do you think of winter?

 

I hope everyone stays safe and warm if they are in colder climates.

 

Happy Thursday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

