“The man who passes the sentence should swing the sword.” – George R.R. Martin – Game of Thrones

Positive Quote: “The man who passes the sentence should swing the sword.” – George R.R. Martin – Game of Thrones

 

The reason I like this quote is that it reminds me as a leader that delivering the hard message is as important as celebrating success.

 

It also reminds me that when the hard message is delivered, I can’t place blame. What I mean is, I have had some managers who would deliver the hard message and say something like, we just heard from corporate or this is coming from so and so and I have no say….To me, that is not a true delivery and not ‘swinging the sword’. As leaders we have a responsibility to be consistent, support the company and be a positive change agent.

 

What do you think?

 

Have a terrific Thursday.

 

P.S. I woke up to newly fallen snow this morning, maybe we’ll get another inch before it stops. Reminds me of another Game of Thrones quote “Winter is coming”.

 

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

