“To fall into a habit is to begin to cease to be.” – Miguel De Unamuno

Positive Quote: “To fall into a habit is to begin to cease to be.” – Miguel De Unamuno

 

This quote has special meaning for me in a few ways. First off, it is the quote that helped me stop biting my nails. I had been a nail biter for as long as I could remember. I could stop for a week and then get right back to it. I bit my nails until they were down to the nubs. I did not like that I bit my nails. I didn’t even enjoy it. Reading the quote made me realize that the habit of biting my nails is what I was doing. I was being dominated by a habit. That shook me. I decided then and there that no habit would ever define me. So I quit. I won’t say it was easy, I will say that I counted each day as a victory. When I got to the 22nd day, I celebrated. I had read a book that mentioned it took 21 days to make or break a habit. It has been years since I last bit my nails. At times of stress I think about it and catch myself almost doing it. Yet, I am thankful that I don’t.

 

The second way this quote has meaning to me is that it helped me realize that at times I could be subconsciously be not engaged or aware. In those moments that habit of what I am doing takes over and I am not fully there. For example, have you ever been driving and you think to yourself, wow how did I get here, I don’t remember passing such and such marker. Or, you have to stop and ask yourself did I already feed the dog, or put the clothes in the dryer, or some other such task…. I believe in those missed moments we are not truly there and if we are not truly there what are we missing.

 

It gives me food for thought.

 

What do you think of when you read this quote?

 

Have a magnificent Monday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

