“The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

Positive Quote: “The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

 

This quote reminds me of the Coke commercial that aired during the super bowl. From online postings and conversations I have read, heard, or been a part of, there seems to be quite a bit of controversy around it.

 

I personally, loved the commercial. I teared up. My family, on my father’s side came to the states from Mexico many a year ago, way before I was born. I don’t ever want to forget that. I want to be proud of that.

 

To me, this country is a melting pot of different cultures, different beliefs, different differences in more ways than I can count. That is what makes it so wonderful. To be reminded of this by a simple, under a minute commercial is a good feeling to me.

 

Now whether or not everyone agrees with me, and that is ok. We all are not alike. Yet, this one commercial drives home to be the desire to embrace diversity and be inclusive.

 

I may not have understood what some people were saying in the commercial, yet I understood the feeling behind it.

 

Have a wonderful Wednesday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

