“The manager with the in-basket problem does not yet understand that he must discipline himself to take are of activities that fail to excite him.” – Priscilla Elfrey

Positive Quote: “The manager with the in-basket problem does not yet understand that he must discipline himself to take are of activities that fail to excite him.” – Priscilla Elfrey

 

I am always interested in seeing quotes or reading books by other people named Priscilla. Priscilla Elfrey wrote a book in the early 80’s called ‘The Hidden Agenda: Recognizing What Really Matters at Work”. Granted it is a tad outdated in some concepts, yet in others it can be spot on. I figure that out of every training session, book I read, or conference I attend that I get a little something out of it and that is something I did not know or have going in.

 

This quote reminds me that not everything a leader does is fun and exciting. There are many administrative items that have to get done and sometimes fall to the wayside. They are not things that may be seen by others, yet to have work life go smoothly they have to happen. I set aside an hour at the end of each week by blocking my calendar to do my filing, printing, and other ‘stuff’. It is easy to try to use that time for other things and having the discipline it not the easiest thing.

 

 

What are activities that as a leader you struggle with?

 

 

 

Have a fabulous Friday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

