“Growth demands a temporary surrender of security.” – Gail Sheely

Positive Quote: “Growth demands a temporary surrender of security.” – Gail Sheely

 

This quote reminds me that in order for me to grow or learn something new I have to accept the fact that there will be times of insecurity and the unknown.

 

If you learned to ride a bike, first you had to get on, learn to balance, and fall many a time in the process.

 

If you learned how to swim, first you had to learn how to hold your breath, how to move your hands and arms, and sometimes choke on water.

 

As a leader, we grow by having mentors and others around us to help us learn that maybe there was a better way we could have stated our opinion, or a better way to collaborate, or even work on a project. We have to get outside of our ego and know that it is ok to not always be right, that we don’t have all the answers, nor should we.

 

I think the next step in my career will be to reach out and find more mentors, more people to help me see what I am too close to see and to grow in ways I did not even know I needed to.

 

What do you think of when you read this quote?

 

Have a wonderful Wednesday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

