“All of us are watchers – of television, of time clocks, of traffic on the freeway – but few are observers. Everyone is looking, not many are seeing.” – Peter M. Leschak

Positive Quote: “All of us are watchers – of television, of time clocks, of traffic on the freeway – but few are observers. Everyone is looking, not many are seeing.” – Peter M. Leschak

 

Have you ever looked at something, yet not really seen it?

 

Imagine talking to someone for a couple of minutes, when you turn around, can you remember what they were wearing or what color their eyes were?

 

I struggled quite a bit with this type of thing. It was like I was just going through the paces of life and interacting with people, yet not really being present, not really seeing. I won’t say that I have mastered the ability to see versus to look. From time to time, my mind wanders or I lost focus on the moment. However, I will say that just being aware that I do this makes me more focused when I am present and am seeing. I try to do little things to help me continue to see and not be distracted. I close the lid of my laptop, I go on do not disturb, I block out my calendar, I let others respond first, I look people in the eye when talking to them, and other little things that can go a long way.

 

What do you think? How do you see versus watch?

 

Have a terrific Thursday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

