“Speak clearly, if you speak at all; carve every word before you let it fall.” – Oliver Wendell Holmes

Positive Quote: “Speak clearly, if you speak at all; carve every word before you let it fall.” – Oliver Wendell Holmes

 

This quote is one that I go to time after time. It is very difficult in the heat of the moment to say something we later regret. Taking the time to inhale, exhale and then speak usually gives me that moment to think about what I am about to say, and how I am about to say it.

 

I believe that words can destroy or they can build. I would rather be a builder than a destroyer.

 

I do make mistakes and things slip out. However, I really try to let those be the exceptions and not the rule.

 

Just the other night my teenage daughter came up to me and said something to the effect of ‘Mom, can you ask me instead of tell me to do things? It sounds nicer even though I know I have to do them’…..I stopped and apologized to her and said, yes that I would make an effort to ask versus tell or dictate. Now, I could have become defensive and said things like, remember the last time I asked you or that won’t work, or other non-helpful comments. Instead I chose to listen, accept, and change my behavior. I also thanked her for being assertive and standing up for herself to me. I told her I was proud that she used her voice to defend herself.

 

As you can tell, this quote means a lot to me.

 

Have a phenomenal Wednesday.

Priscilla

One thought on ““Speak clearly, if you speak at all; carve every word before you let it fall.” – Oliver Wendell Holmes

  1. Pingback: The Flower Of Liberty By Oliver Wendell Holmes | Renard Moreau Presents

Leave a Reply

