Quote by Marie Curie and how it reminds me to celebrate success

Positive Quote: “One never notices what has been done; one can only see what remains to be done.” – Marie Curie

 

I don’t know why, yet it seems that most people focus on what does not get done versus what has and is being done. I never really fully understood or saw the impact of this until I managed a team that worked the 3rd shift, from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. I did not work those hours, yet I did spend time with them two nights a month for staff meetings, one on ones, and to talk to them. I know in the grand scheme of things two nights a month was not a huge amount of time, yet for a team that did not get the same level of attention of the day teams I felt it helped.

 

I learned more from them about managing and leading people than I think they learned from me. I learned that….

 

  • People need to hear that they are doing a good job; silence does not equal feedback
  • Just because something happens like clockwork does not mean it is easy to do, making something look easy is a skill
  • As a manager and leader I needed to be an advocate and a voice for my team, when they were working most everyone was asleep
  • No one should take people for granted, people are not like a light switch where some can expect it just to work and do
  • It can always be worse, trust me, it can… no one likes be awakened at 2am with a huge issue impacting so many people and things
  • Trust matters, respect should be freely given until proven otherwise, don’t assume the worst about people’s motives
  • A band-aid solution to give you time to breathe, think, and chase down a root cause is so much better than letting an issue go one trying to find the root cause and perfect solution
  • Lessons Learned meetings does not equal shuffling of blame, as a leader, anything your team does you are accountable for

 

As you can tell, this quote has me very thoughtful. I believe that appreciating the successes more leads to future success and does not take away from the areas that need improvement and focus. It is ok to look back as a team and celebrate how far you have come which can lead to increased motivation on going even further.

 

What do you think?

 

Have a fantastic Friday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

