“We make a living by what we get. We make a life by what we give.” – Winston Churchill

Positive Quote: “We make a living by what we get. We make a life by what we give.” – Winston Churchill

 

I recently became a new member of the Greater St. Louis United Way – Women’s Leadership Society. Last night I attended my first event. I was touched, inspired, and blown away by witnessing, listening to, and talking to such strong, female leaders in our community.

 

There was one woman, Brittany Packnett from Teach for America who answered questions around keeping motivated, best career advice, etc… something she said stuck with me and resonated. She was telling a story and made the comment that we, as women, and in general should always look to defy expectations. It got me to thinking what expectations am I living up to but not exceeding? Can I do more? Am I reflecting what I am capable with in every situation? Do I go above and beyond in all my interactions? After introspection, I know I can do more, I should do more, and only I can change that.

 

There are so many worthy causes out there and so many people who need help, guidance, and mentoring. Another women put it well in saying that we, as leaders, should look for ways to use what motivates us, our talents, our unique skills and help others in that way. To me this means, I shouldn’t run a marathon to support an organization if I don’t enjoy running nor should I assume if help is needed I will be approached. There is a balance and now I need to find my niche and see what works for me.

 

This quote reminds me that to live a life we have to give… of ourselves to and for others.

 

Have a phenomenal Friday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

