“Steve Jobs said when you grow up, you tend to get told that the world is the way that it is, and that your life is to live your life inside the world and try not to get into too much trouble. But life can be a lot broader than that when you realize one simple thing, and that is that everything around us that we call life was made up by people that are no smarter than you. You can build your own life that other people can live in. So build a life. Don’t live one; build one.” – Ashton Kutcher

Positive Quote: “Steve Jobs said when you grow up, you tend to get told that the world is the way that it is, and that your life is to live your life inside the world and try not to get into too much trouble. But life can be a lot broader than that when you realize one simple thing, and that is that everything around us that we call life was made up by people that are no smarter than you. You can build your own life that other people can live in. So build a life. Don’t live one; build one.” – Ashton Kutcher

 

Ashton Kutcher is a very good actor. I have enjoyed many a movie that he was in. However, prior to the recent Teen Choice awards, I did not know that he could be a role model too. As a parent of a teenager, I tend to try to keep up to date on actors, music artists, movies, and the like in order to be able to know when it was ok for my daughter to listen, watch, or go to places and to be able to talk intelligently about it.

 

 

I tend to have issues struggling with letting my daughter out of the box I created consisting of home life and having the need to be aware of every little thing. It wasn’t until the last two years that I realized there is so much more I don’t know. I have to remind myself that in less than a year she will have her license and will be driving solo. I know the world is a huge place ….. I have to remind myself that she is a smart, intelligent, strong young woman and that she’ll be ok.

 

 

If you have a chance to watch and hear his speech, here is a link to it Ashton Kutcher Speech. It is a little under 5 minutes and well worth the watch.

 

 

Today is a big day for me as I continue on the path of letting go and having my teenage daughter enter in the world and grows up. Today is a meeting at her school to talk about the potential for her to travel overseas as a school trip. My hope is that I will be open minded and let her be a large part of the decision making process for her future life. Wish me luck.

 

 

Have a wonderful Wednesday.

 

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

