“There is no substitute for accurate knowledge. Know yourself, know your business, know your men.” – Randall Jacobs

Positive Quote: “There is no substitute for accurate knowledge. Know yourself, know your business, know your men.” – Randall Jacobs

 

I have found that sometimes what we think we know isn’t what we should know or it isn’t all of the pieces of information that make up the whole. I tend to view knowledge as a jigsaw puzzle, everything I learn is another puzzle piece to fit in and there are a lot of empty gaps.

 

Knowing that I don’t know everything (nor should I) and that it is ok not to know is a precept I live by. What I do try to do is ensure I surround myself with people who know more than me in the areas that are not my core strengths or interests.

 

For example: I could do my own taxes every year if I set my mind to it, however, by having a person who is qualified and up to date on ever changing tax laws do them for me, I know that not only will they get done, but they will get done better than I could have done.

 

Another precept I live by is that if two people are telling me two different sides of something, that neither is 100% accurate and the whole story lies in the middle. Each one speaks their truth, and it may be accurate from their perspective. However, to gain an accurate understanding, it is usually in the middle.

 

So how do you ensure you have accurate knowledge? I try to gain information from multiple sources and gut check the information to see if I think it could be possible or even gut check it with others. Mainly, I try to avoid assuming. I ask questions. I try to confirm and validate. There are not many things worse than going forward with a plan, a proposal, or a change and you have the wrong  or inaccurate information.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a phenomenal Friday.

 

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

