Quotes reflecting on death

Today I have three quotes to share around the topic of death.

 

“To live in hearts we leave behind is not to die.” – Clyde Campbell

 

“When it’s time to die, let us not discover that we have never lived.” – Henry David Thoreau

 

“Let us endeavor so to live that when we come to die even the undertaker will be sorry.” – Mark Twain

 

The topic of death is on my heart today. One of my team members had her brother pass away recently. Death is not easy, even if/when you have fore notice. The pain and sadness do not change based on the hows and whens of death.

 

I personally don’t like to think about my death, I focus instead on my life and leaving a legacy for my children and to help others in the world and hope that I am remembered fondly and with love.

 

I could not decide between the three quotes. The first one by Clyde Campbell is a balm for my soul. It helps me understand that I will live on in the memories in others; hopefully good ones. Being remembered, to me that speaks volumes.

 

The second quote by Henry Thoreau helps me remember to live life to the fullest; to not say ‘someday’ but to make each day someday. I want to enjoy life and do things that bring happiness to myself and others.  Living life with no regrets and making the most of what I have in my life.

 

The third quote brings a smile to my face. I mean, who wants a funeral where people are there out of duty versus feeling? To have the undertaker think to themselves that wow, this person touched a lot of people and was loved. That is having lived a wonderful life.

 

As my heart goes out to my team member and my thoughts are with the family as they mourn….. I want to take a moment and reflect on life and death.

 

…..

 

Have a reflective Monday.

 

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

