“Work like you don’t need the money, love like you’ve never been hurt, and dance like no one is watching.” – Satchel Paige

Positive Quote: “Work like you don’t need the money, love like you’ve never been hurt, and dance like no one is watching.” – Satchel Paige

 

I smile when I imagine what the world would be like if everyone followed the quote. It reminds me of youthful innocence of children. As a child, one tended to not care about money, getting hurt, or being embarrassed of our dancing style. When does it change? It is different for so many people.

 

When I was younger, I worked for the money. I started working as a child in southern California at a horse stable and then for a local youth center (I was a pre-teen) and once I turned 16, fast food became my job. In my 20’s I turned to retail and at times had more than one job at a time. It wasn’t until my 30’s that I came to the realization that work should be pleasurable and more than just about money. Yes, the money is needed to pay bills, enjoy life, and what not…. It just shouldn’t be my main focus.

 

The love like you have ever been hurt, that is a tough one. It is easier to build walls to protect ourselves from future pain if/when we get hurt. Yet, it is hard to love fully with those barriers in place. This is one I have to keep remembering and let it be.

 

Dancing, now that I can relate to, I am not the best dancer in the world. Yet, I will get on the floor and dance. It doesn’t matter if I embarrass my kids or if I can’t keep a beat, what matters is the joy I feel when letting go and having fun.

 

What do you think?

 

Have a fabulous Thursday.

 

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

