“We become not a melting pot but a beautiful mosaic. Different people, different beliefs, different yearnings, different hopes, different dreams.” – Jimmy Carter

Positive Quote: “We become not a melting pot but a beautiful mosaic. Different people, different beliefs, different yearnings, different hopes, different dreams.” – Jimmy Carter

 

This past Sunday (6/8), the CBS Sunday Morning TV show did a segment on transgender children. I found it inspiring and a step in the right direction. Granted, it did not go as far as I wanted it to, yet having the conversation, I thought, was a good thing. We must become a society that embraces diversity and is inclusive of others. Otherwise, well, I don’t want to think about otherwise.

Here is a link to the segment for those that are interested.
http://www.cbsnews.com/news/born-this-way-stories-of-young-transgender-children/

 

A melting pot, I don’t know about you, but when I think about a melting pot I think of smoothness, no bumps, and sameness. Different from the start with all the ingredients added, yet not much to delineate. Now, a mosaic, when I think about a mosaic I think of rich, vibrant color. I think of different shapes and sizes and dimensional quality. I think of seeing a mosaic once and seeing certain aspects, yet when I look a second time I see new things. There is harmony in the difference of individual pieces and those individual pieces don’t lose their aspect by becoming more like the other pieces.

 

Is that diversity? Is diversity a place where people are themselves and don’t have to ‘become’ or change their persona to fit in?

 

I think it is where people are accepted for who they are, where they came from, where they want to be, and for every experience that made them become them. Everyone has something to offer. Everyone has value. You have to be open minded enough to look for it amongst the things that are different from yourself.

 

I recently read a blog by that had a most interesting fact, for me, was “A recent study from the 2014 Corporate Executive Board shows employees who feel their workplace fosters diversity and inclusion work 12% harder, are 19% more likely to stay longer with the organization, and collaborate up to 57% more effectively with peers.” The collaboration percentage was astounding; 57% more effectively. Imagine how much stress that would alleviate, how much quicker issues would get resolved, how much miscommunication would disappear… and so much more.

 

What are you doing to foster an environment of diversity and inclusion? How are you adding to the mosaic?

 

Have a tremendous Tuesday and here’s to all of us adding something special to our mosaic.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

