“What we need to do is learn to respect and embrace our differences until our differences don’t make a difference in how we are treated.” – Yolanda King

Positive Quote: “What we need to do is learn to respect and embrace our differences until our differences don’t make a difference in how we are treated.” – Yolanda King

 

Yolanda King was the daughter of Martin Luther King Jr. I cannot imagine what her life must have been like growing up. We are not all Martin Luther King Jr’s, we are all not all out there being visible advocates to the world. However, we can be visible advocates to our own world; our friends, our family, and people we interact with.

 

I love this quote, learning to embrace differences until the differences don’t make a difference. I think that is such a wonderful aspiration.

 

I guess I tend to get reflective around this time each year on differences and diversity. My daughter turns 16 this year and celebrating her birthday is bittersweet. I love that she is growing up and becoming independent, I struggle with letting go and letting her be her; which I know is not a minnie me. I also remember my father, whose birthday would be the day after my daughters. I lost out on so much time with him because I failed to embrace his differences and we had so much miscommunication. From the age of 8 to 16 I did not talk to him, see him, or anything. Then from the age of 19 to my early 30’s we did not talk at all. I am ever so thankful that for the last decade of his life we reconciled and I was able to see past the differences and see the love. It may have looked different than what I wanted or expected… but it was the love he was able to give.

 

I guess you can say I am now a proponent of looking past the differences and hoping to connect and realize that the differences don’t make a difference.

 

Since my father passed away a couple of years ago, my father’s side of the family has opened their arms to me and my family. I may not see them or live by them, but I can feel their love and support across the miles. They celebrate the happy times with me and provide comfort in the not so happy times. Just knowing they are a phone call or Facebook posting away makes all the difference in the world.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a wonderful Wednesday and here’s to differences not making a difference.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

