“We need to give each other the space to grow, to be ourselves, to exercise our diversity. We need to give each other space so that we may both give and receive such beautiful things as ideas, openness, dignity, joy, healing, and inclusion.” – Max de Pree

Positive Quote: “We need to give each other the space to grow, to be ourselves, to exercise our diversity. We need to give each other space so that we may both give and receive such beautiful things as ideas, openness, dignity, joy, healing, and inclusion.” – Max de Pree

 

Yesterday was my daughter’s 16th birthday. She had a whole lot of friends over to our house for pizza, cake, music, etc… I struggled with giving her space. I tried to be in a different room away from the teenagers to give them privacy and be able to enjoy their time together. Yet, every time I heard a squeal or voices being raised I wanted to go over and ‘fix it’ or at least investigate. Thankfully, I have a wonderful husband who kept me sane and reminded me that she could handle it and only if we heard an actual fight or breaking sounds would we intervene.

 

There was drama, yet I must say that the group of kids was great at keeping each other accountable. I heard a lot of “hey, don’t do that” or “this is not your party, don’t be rude” and so much more.

 

If I had not stepped back and given them space, I would not have been able to experience their interactions (because parents are invisible to teens), their open communication on so many wide ranging topics, the joy at simple things, and the healing and inclusion when feelings got hurt (as they often do at that age).

 

I guess my main point that I learned was that it is okay to step back and let others be themselves; that is okay if they don’t handle things exactly as you would, as long as it gets handled.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a fantastic Friday and let’s all give others space to be themselves.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

