“Finding and fixing problems is everybody’s job. Anyone should be able to stop the production line.” – Ed Catmull

Positive Quote: “Finding and fixing problems is everybody’s job. Anyone should be able to stop the production line.” – Ed Catmull

I am a firm believer in continual service improvements. I also believe that managers do not have all the answers. The best ideas on improvement come from the people doing the job. Anyone should be able to recommend ideas on fixing or tweaking things. However, if someone point’s out an issue, I fully expect them to have a few solutions in mind. It is easy to point on failings and things that are not the best, it is a whole different thing to point out an issue and have a few solutions for it. I prefer the latter.

Sometimes we tend to get caught up in the day to day work mode and don’t make time to stop and reassess and fix. I have a list I use to write down (electronically) things that come to mind that I think may need tweaking. Periodically I will go to the list and talk to others to confirm it needs tweaking and brainstorm potential solutions. Sometimes when I get stuck, I’ll broaden the scope and talk to many more people to get their input. More often than not a solution can be found.

What do you think of this quote?

Have a wonderful Wednesday.
Priscilla

Leave a Reply

