“Leadership is seeing the possibilities in a situation while others are seeing the limitations.” – John C Maxwell

Positive Quote: “Leadership is seeing the possibilities in a situation while others are seeing the limitations.” – John C Maxwell

Leadership is full of ups and downs. Thankfully, more ups than downs. There are times when things can seem daunting and one can feel discouraged. Pushing through the discouragement and looking to see the possibilities versus the roadblocks takes effort and determination. None of those things are easy. There are some days I go home mentally exhausted and other days I go home on a cloud, bubbling over with excitement.

For example, at my last job I can remember we were called the MIS Help Desk and our customers called us the Helpless Desk. Hold times were in the triple, yes triple digits. As someone new in IT (this was back in the mid 90’s), I could have been discouraged and gone back to my comfort zone of retail store management. Yet, I didn’t. My approach was to treat each call as the most important thing I was working on. I did not apologize for things outside my control, yet I did express empathy on the wait time and tried to reassure them that I would do everything I could to help fix their issue. Did this always work, no, sometimes people cannot be soothed and in those cases the best thing to do is fix it quickly with urgency. At that time I was not in a leadership position, yet a title does not make a leader. Leadership is broader than a title or job function, it is in how you interact with others and work together towards a greater purpose.

Fast forward a few years to my being in a management position at the same help desk, yet now we were called the IT Support Center (a few years later we became the IT Service Desk) and the opportunities to make things better abounded. I found that doing the same thing over and over, expecting different results was not for me. Thankfully, I had a wonderful boss who gave me opportunities to try out new things to see if it improved things and if not, we could always go back to where we were before.

Having such a stressful indoctrination into IT helped me gain a perspective that things can always be worse. This has helped me try to focus on the ‘what if’ versus the ‘we can’t’ in things.

What do you think of this quote?

Have a tremendous Tuesday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

