“Leadership is the willingness to put oneself at risk.” – John C Maxwell

Positive Quote: “Leadership is the willingness to put oneself at risk.” – John C Maxwell

When I read this quote I ask myself ‘What does risk mean?’…

Does risk mean danger? Well, I don’t think so.

Does risk mean exposure and vulnerability? Well, yes that I think it does.

I think the quote is saying that as a leader we have to be vulnerable and be ok with making mistakes and being ourselves, not having a mask and not trying to do things only to self promote. It becomes more about the team and less about the individual.

As a leader I need to find a way for my team to know that I have their back, that I am a supporter of them as a team and as individuals.

As a leader, how do you put yourself out there, at risk?

For me, I believe that sharing my thoughts is also a form of putting myself out there (risk). I am by far not a perfect leader, yet I do want to continually grow and improve each day.

What do you think this quote is saying?

Have a wonderful Wednesday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

