“Never ruin an apology with an excuse.” – Kimberly Johnson

Positive Quote: “Never ruin an apology with an excuse.” – Kimberly Johnson

An apology means saying you are sorry and meaning it. Something like “I’m sorry I was late.” end of sentence instead of “I’m sorry I was late the guy in front of me wouldn’t move over.” While one is actually apologizing, the other is not accepting responsibility (accountability) and is blaming others or making excuses.

There are many times where I wanted to make an excuse when something goes wrong, doesn’t work out well, or is not what it should have been. However, those are the times I remind myself to take a deep breath and breathe. Then to look at what is in front of me, understand what went wrong and apologize without blame.

For example: say I get a call or email from someone who is not happy with the service they received from one of my team members. I could say things like, ‘Oh that person is training, they are new, or even something like, that doesn’t normally happen’… yet until I say those two words of ‘I’m sorry’ the rest is excuses. Now, I can follow up ‘I’m sorry’ with other things like ‘I’ll talk to the individual and make sure this doesn’t happen again or once we get this straightened out we will update our procedures to reflect this type of scenario so it doesn’t happen again, or other additional information that does not take away from the apology.

What do you think of this quote?

Have a great Wednesday.
Priscilla

Leave a Reply

