“When a man points a finger at someone else, he should remember that four of his fingers are pointing at himself.” – Louis Nizer

Positive Quote: “When a man points a finger at someone else, he should remember that four of his fingers are pointing at himself.” – Louis Nizer

I like this quote because it reminds me that it takes two people to have a miscommunication. It is important to find that method that works for each person to ensure there is an understanding. You can give information to 20 people the exact same way and I would guarantee that there would be some who would not remember or understand. That doesn’t mean those people are at fault, it just means they need a different style of communication to understand.

I try to ask myself when things go wrong or there is an issue … I ask myself if I was clear enough, did I give enough details, information, guidance, and direction. Did I check in periodically to see if things were progressing? Did I follow up and ask questions to ensure understanding? In other words, did I see that four fingers were pointing to me? If the answer was yes, then it becomes a different kind of conversation.

What do you think of this quote?

Have a wonderful Friday.
Priscilla

Leave a Reply

