“Find out who you are and do it on purpose.” – Dolly Parton

Positive Quote: “Find out who you are and do it on purpose.” – Dolly Parton

This quote brings out my contemplative side. I mean it sounds simple, right? Yet, it is far from that.

When I was younger, actually up into my early to mid-twenties, I really did not embrace who I was. I had a public face that I showed others, trying to be someone I was not and holding back on the real me. I am not saying I was 100% fake, yet I was not as real as I could have been either. Looking back, there are too many reasons for the why, yet never enough to make it easy.

Something happened in my mid-twenties where I started accepting myself for who I was and started believing in the fact that who I was was something to be proud of and feel good about. Looking back, that is when I started being more ‘me’ at work and everywhere I went.

Now, in my mid-forties, I am definitely myself whether I am at work or home or elsewhere. It is kind of freeing in fact to know that you are you and as Dolly says, doing it on purpose.

What do you think of this quote?

Have a marvelous Monday and let’s all be ourselves.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

