“First say to yourself what you would be; and then do what you have to do.” – Epictetus

Positive Quote: “First say to yourself what you would be; and then do what you have to do.” – Epictetus

This quote jumped out at me today. It helps remind me that to be who we are we have to know who we want to be and work towards becoming that person. If you are not purposeful in who you want to be, you can end up being someone you did not want to be.

I grew up in a less than happy home. I experienced things no child should ever have to experience. As a teenager, I committed to myself that I would not become that type of person, that I would break the cycle and be different, that I could make a difference and be proud of who I could be. Having that in my head over the years helped me make decisions that were not always the easiest. I look back and things could have turned out so differently for me if I had not had a picture of what my future self could look like. Granted, I am different that I imagined as a teenager, yet I am happy with who I am as a person.

What do you think of this quote?

Have a tremendous Tuesday.
Priscilla

Leave a Reply

