“When you talk, you repeat what you already know; when you listen, you often learn something.” – Jared Sparks

Positive Quote: “When you talk, you repeat what you already know; when you listen, you often learn something.” – Jared Sparks

I laugh a little when I read this quote…. I am sure we all know someone who is not really listening, but itching to jump in with their comments, suggestions, or stories when others are talking. In essence, they talk about what they know and lost the opportunity to learn something.

I had this lesson drilled into me when I was in the IT Help Desk environment…. Callers would call in needing help with their issues and it was sooo easy to jump in and cut them off thinking we knew the answer to their problem since we heard so many similar ones before….. however, not taking the time to listen could be a time waster as well as take us down the wrong path…..

I remember one caller who was talking to the person in the cube next to me, their LRT gun wasn’t booting up. An LRT gun is a scanner retail stores can use to check inventory, check in freight, and do a host of receiving duties…anyway, the person next to me was walking them through rebooting sequences by pressing so many buttons together at once then pressing the trigger simultaneously and was not achieving his desired results. I could tell he was not listening and not taking the time to ask the right questions. He assumed he knew based on his knowledge. As luck would have it, I got a call from the same store, yet I did not know it at the time. This caller also said their LRT gun was not working… so I asked a question; I asked if any of them were working. The answer was no, it turned out the issue was with the main computer and a reboot resolved the issue. The store had lost power and the computer had issues in boot up so needed a restart. This fixed the issue. Next thing I knew the person next to me hung up in a huff saying the caller said “nevermind they are working now”. We compared notes and he was pretty upset he had spent over a ½ hour on a call and not known the critical element.

It goes to show, you have to ask questions and really listen to the answers to know if you are even going in the right direction…. with life having us juggle so many competing priorities and demands for our attention, it is crucial that we take the time to listen.

What do you think of this quote?

Have a wonderful Wednesday.
Priscilla

Leave a Reply

