“An optimist sees an opportunity in every calamity; a pessimist sees a calamity in every opportunity.” – Winston Churchill

Positive Quote: “An optimist sees an opportunity in every calamity; a pessimist sees a calamity in every opportunity.” – Winston Churchill

This quote reminds me that things happen, plans go awry, fire drills come and go…yet through it all, the ability to maintain a positive attitude can mean the difference between calmness or further distress. I prefer the calmness. Now I won’t say that I am calm and cool under pressure with any situation, however I will say that in times of stress (calamity) I take the time to stop, breathe, and ask myself if I have the ‘right’ attitude when approaching the situation.

For example, in my prior life there was a time when I was notified that all stores (there were over 1600 at the time) could not communicate with the corporate office, this was around midnight, which meant no end of day files came through and worse yet, no store could sell the next morning and would be forced to use handwritten tickets; which basically meant, pen and paper, manual calculations on pricing/tax. The conference call that ensued was intense to say the least, yet a little over an hour before the stores were set to open, the issue was remediated. I won’t go into technical jargon, needless to say, a positive attitude and calmness helped me ensure there were 2 different contingency plans in the works in the event the outage lasted for a long duration. I think back fondly to that night, this was at a time when cell phones were out, yet not smart phones. I drained my battery on my cell phone, switched to the land line cordless home phone while I charged my cell phone and when the cordless home phone died I went back to the cell phone. This went on for about 8 switches. Do I wish that night had never happened, yes… do I begrudge it, no…..I learned a lot, got to reconnect with people across the organization, got to meet new people, and overall we stayed on track and kept the lights on…..Looking back now, if I had been a pessimist in that situation, we would have seen arguing and no true headway versus collaboration. Trust me, collaboration is better.

What do you think of this quote?

Have a marvelous Thursday.
Priscilla

Leave a Reply

