“Speech is the mirror of the soul; as a man speaks, so he is.” – Publilius Syrus

Positive Quote: “Speech is the mirror of the soul; as a man speaks, so he is.” – Publilius Syrus

This quote reminds me that what I say, how I interact with people, how I accept responsibility and accountability, and how I handle conflict and stress speaks volumes to my soul, my character.

The other day, a wise person was telling me that if you speak something often enough it can become a self-fulfilling prophecy. For example, if you tell someone “how clumsy of me, I am such a klutz” it reinforces that thought. It would be better to say, “I’m sorry, I seem to have knocked over your xyz, let me help clean it up”.

It can go even deeper, if you tell your team you have an open door policy and they can come to you with any issue and each time someone comes with bad news, you yell at them, raise your voice, or slam things around your desk….. the message you are sending is not one of openness. After a time, people will avoid going to you which can over negative impacts.

I, personally, want to have a soul that shines, that is welcoming. My goal is to have my words and actions mirror who I am and more importantly, who I want to be.

What do you think of this quote?

Have a wonderful Wednesday.
Priscilla

Leave a Reply

