“Change: A bend in the road is not the end of the road…Unless you fail to make the turn.” – Helen Keller

Positive Quote: “Change: A bend in the road is not the end of the road…Unless you fail to make the turn.” – Helen Keller

I like this quote because it reinforces to me that our life, is what we make of it. What do we do when we hit the dead end, the road block, the bend in the road? Do we turn around and go back, do we go sideways? Do we stop there? Or do we adapt and make it work?

I have had quite a few bends in my road.

Growing up in a not so happy home in Southern California, my dream job was to be a child psychiatrist. However, I am not a science person.  As a teenager, I did not have work aspirations; my aspiration was to stop the cycle of my past. I had been working since before I could remember. In my early 20’s I found out I was good at management and I was lucky enough to work for a company that promoted from within. Then, when I reached a point where I had to ask myself, what next, what do I want to do… I ‘fell’ into IT leaving leadership behind; for the short term. IT was a huge bend, one of those bends where you can see the back of your car as you take the turn (there are some like that in the mountains of North Carolina). I learned and adapted and grew in IT. I found my way back to leadership within IT and again, was lucky enough to have great mentors along the way. My next major bend came when my soon to be husband got his ‘dream’ job in Illinois. We got married, I left a job I loved, and we moved to Southern Illinois. I found myself once again asking myself, where now, what next, I couldn’t stay at home, it is not in my nature. So, I ‘fell’ into the financial industry and here I am today.  There have been other bends around the years and I know there are more to come in my future. Yet, each time I reach a bend in the road (or a fork), I have to ask myself, what next, where do I want to be, is this the best choice for me. Sometimes it is hard and sometimes it is challenging. Yet, I believe to embrace life, you have to put yourself out there and take chances.

Each person has their own bends in the road, their own forks, and their own roadblocks. No two people are the same. Yet, it doesn’t mean that their bends are less or more important, they are just different. We each bring something unique to the table; we just have to be open and aware. We also have to be willing to have mentors to have people we trust and can talk to.

I am looking forward to the next bend in my road and know that going backwards is not an option for me.

What do you think of this quote?

Have a terrific Thursday and here is to embracing the bends in each of our unique roads.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

