“My responsibility is leadership, and the minute I get negative, that is going to have an influence on my team.” – Don Shula

Positive Quote: “My responsibility is leadership, and the minute I get negative, that is going to have an influence on my team.” – Don Shula

Negativity and leadership, they are like oil and water, not quite right with each other. I am not saying a leader should be positive all the time or be a cheerleader. A leader can challenge, can coach, can counsel, and can deliver a tough message, all without negativity.

I think of it like flying on an airplane. If the flight attendant starts panicking or is anything other than calm, it will have an immediate impact on the passengers. To me, leadership is like being a flight attendant, maintaining calm and being composed under pressure while taking care of issues is vital. If composure cannot be maintained, more and more of your team will stop bringing issues to you or will wait to the last minute to let you know something has gone wrong, which may have an adverse effect on being able to fix it. So, I make a concerted effort to not punish the messenger, to treat each issue with fresh eyes and to realize that my team is watching how I react, which will have an influence on them.

What do you think of this quote?

Have a marvelous Monday.
Priscilla

Leave a Reply

