“Don’t bother just to be better than your contemporaries or predecessors. Try to be better than yourself.” – William Faulkner

Positive Quote: “Don’t bother just to be better than your contemporaries or predecessors. Try to be better than yourself.” – William Faulkner

This quote helps remind me that life is not always a competition with you against others or the world. It can and should be a competition against yourself. Can you be a better you?

In the work world, I try my best not to compare myself against my peers or those that had my job before me, as I am not them. What I do instead is reflect on the current environment, use that as an indicator of what is and strive to make my surroundings, my area of responsibility, and my team better. In 6 months to a year, I want to be able to look back and say, yes, we are better today than we were then and then keep that going so that there is no standing still. One can always evolve in small, medium, and large ways as individuals and as a team and as a company. In my opinion, the failure to continually push oneself to be better can lead to stagnation and being less nimble and agile.

On a personal/work area, each year in the summer my husband and I write down 2-3 medium to large goals that we want to accomplish in the coming year. These could be personal as well as professional. Then the next summer, we review the list and talk about ways to accomplish anything we did not. Stepping back and taking time to think about yourself, where you are in life, and what you want to accomplish, to me, is a vital part of achieving happiness and satisfaction in life.

For example, many years ago, I attended a conference where the guest speaker was extremely motivational. She happened to be Hispanic (like me) and some of the things she mentioned really resonated with me. I left that conference asking myself, am I adding value to my community, to others, to myself? It helped me step back and reprioritize where I was spending my team. Today, I can look back and know that I am adding value. Could I do more, absolutely, we all could. Yet focusing on these topics helps bring me inner peace and happiness.

What do you think of this quote?

Have a marvelous Friday.
Priscilla

Leave a Reply

