“Make the most of yourself, for that is all there is of you.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Positive Quote: “Make the most of yourself, for that is all there is of you.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

This quote reinforces that we only have one of us. There is only one Priscilla. It helps remind me to accept myself for who I am and to strive to be a better me.

It also has me thinking on the recent Supreme Court ruling last week. I think June 26th is a day many people will always remember. When I heard and read about it, I will admit I got teary. I think it is wonderful. I was talking to my daughter about it that evening. She is 17 now and has her own opinions on life that don’t always coincide with her mom’s (mine). Yet, in this instance we were both very happy. I told her that I did not know if I would see this day occur in my lifetime. I wonder what she will experience in her lifetime. Will the days of prejudice be a memory and something that is reviewed in history lessons to show young people how far we have come and reinforce why we should never go back? I don’t know. Yet, I do know that today, today, this week, this month, this year, I will be happy, optimistic, and thankful that I did experience this day. I do know that it probably isn’t over; people will try to reverse it. We may see a side of people we did not know existed. We may lose friends and be disappointed by them and by family. I wish it were not so, yet I think it may be. Yet, through it all, I will be optimistic that this is a step, one of many to come and who knows how the future will evolve.

As each day marches on, I will make the most of myself, I will be true to myself, and I will greet each day with optimism…for I know that the future is bright (and colorful).

What do you think of this quote?

Have a marvelous Monday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

