“Excellence is to do a common thing in an uncommon way.” – Booker T. Washington

Positive Quote: “Excellence is to do a common thing in an uncommon way.” – Booker T. Washington

This quote has me thinking about the word excellence. To me excellence means something extraordinary and if someone were to do it the exact same way as you do, they would be excellent to. To me it means being a role model.

What I like about this quote is that it reminds me that anyone can be excellent. It is a reminder to me to do the best I can and perhaps even exceed my own expectations. For example, if the day has been a long one, and I need to get an email out by close of business, rather than cobbling something together and sending it to get it out, I would cobble it together, step back, come back to it, re-read what I typed and tweak it to make it better and easier to consume. Then I would send. I have found that taking 5-10 minutes actually reduces quite a bit of time in the long run, as it can prevent those bounce back emails from people asking for clarification or more details.

One thing one of my past mentors taught me was that if you can cover the W’s in an email [who it applies to, what is this about (in summary), when (timeframe), why (this can be a hard one to nail down sometimes), and sometimes where (if applicable)] then you can eliminate many questions. The message is one thing; the delivery and formatting of the message make a huge difference.

This quote also motivates me to continue to strive for excellence; standing still should not be an option. It also prompts me that no matter the task, I should do it well.

What do you think of this quote?

Have a fantastic Tuesday.
Priscilla

One thought on ““Excellence is to do a common thing in an uncommon way.” – Booker T. Washington

Leave a Reply

