“The essence of strategy is choosing what not to do.” – Michael E. Porter

Positive Quote: “The essence of strategy is choosing what not to do.” – Michael E. Porter

This quote jumped out at me today. Imagine, not doing something is strategic. Yet, it is. Sometimes, walking away is the best course of action. Sometimes, letting something happen to either see how the trend goes or how it changes is a better choice.

I can remember when I first understood why choosing what not to do was part of a strategy. I was helping to develop a presentation that was going to be shown to the CIO at a prior company. I had listed several options that we were looking for a decision and my manager and mentor asked me why I did not have an option of ‘do nothing’. I had to stop and think and then realize, yes that made sense, because if it was not listed as an option with the risk and outcome if that path was chosen it could be assumed to have a different effect. When the presentation happened, we received many good comments as to the clarity and conciseness of the presentation and there was good discussion around the ‘do nothing’ option. After that, it has stuck with me over the following years. Knowing that not doing something is an option and explaining what that means can be a cornerstone of a strategy or roadmap.

What do you think of this quote?

Have a marvelous, wonderful Wednesday.
Priscilla

Leave a Reply

