“The very essence of leadership is that you have to have vision. You can’t blow an uncertain trumpet.” – Theodore Hesburgh

Positive Quote “The very essence of leadership is that you have to have vision. You can’t blow an uncertain trumpet.” – Theodore Hesburgh

I am a visual person, when I read this quote; I can picture in my mind a person trying to blow on a trumpet and the sound fizzling away. I can imagine it not being a pleasant sound.

It makes me ask myself if leaders are like that person playing a trumpet.

I have been exposed to many different types of leaders, from the motivational and persuasive where they get everyone engaged to the lackluster and non-visible where people may not know who their leader is or know what they look like.

I think you have to be exposed to the good, bad, great, and average to be able to develop your own leadership style. Do you react too fast and leave everyone behind you trying to catch up? Do you bomb the messenger, so that when they leave you they feel physical pain? Are you available and more importantly, are you approachable?

If your leadership style was a music instrument, what would it be?

I have to think on that, I don’t know what instrument my leadership voice would be. Yet, I like that this quote helps me think about it and think about the beauty in music, the consistency needed, the flexibility, the adaptability, the story telling, and most of all, having someone to play for (which is your team).

What do you think of this quote?

Have a wonderful Monday and let’s all strive to have our leadership voice be what we envision it to be and not fizzle away.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

