“Confront the difficult while it is easy; accomplish the great task by a series of small acts.” – Tao Te Ching

Positive Quote: “Confront the difficult while it is easy; accomplish the great task by a series of small acts.” – Tao Te Ching

Confrontation is not a word that comes easy to most people. I have found that quite a few people avoid confrontation and may even think of it in negative terms. To me, if you are sincere, respectful, and tailor your delivery to your audience, confrontation can be a good thing. When I stop and think about it, I find it surrounds me. From some interactions with my teenage daughter, to a service man who did not complete a job at my home, to the person who called the wrong number and is upset that I am not who they think I should be. In each of these cases, the confrontation can be simple to detailed, yet should not be avoided. After a while, it gets easier and then tacking something in the early stages is better than being forced to deal with it when it has grown into something horrific. Being aware of issues and accepting personal responsibility to confront as well as collaborate and address things head on versus ignoring them in the hopes they will go away… well, to me that is a path towards accomplishment.
My recent confrontation I am dealing with is my feelings about my daughter going to college next year. My way of dealing with it while it is easy is breaking it into bite size chunks… talking about specific schools, majors, visiting campuses, and being open to knowing she will probably not go to the university in town and will be further away. So, our small acts are setting deadlines for ourselves, her with writing her essays and us, as parents, with scheduling trips and working on forms together. I found that this is keeping me sane.

What do you think of this quote? Here is to small acts leading to accomplishment down the road.

Have a wonderful Wednesday.
Priscilla

Leave a Reply

