“You have to expect things of yourself before you can do them.” – Michael Jordan

Positive Quote: “You have to expect things of yourself before you can do them.” – Michael Jordan

Reading this quote, I find it reminds me that we each are our own worst critics. We expect more from ourselves than from others, or at least I do. I find myself trying to fix the ails of my world as a first inclination. I smile, because this is so clear to me. My teenage daughter will oft times start a conversation with me by saying, “Mom, I need you to just listen and not fix” as my indicator to not step in and recommend a course of action.

I think having high expectations is a good thing. As long as it is tempered with the knowledge that no one can do anything 100% by themselves; then understanding that what is a high priority for you, may not be for someone else.

I will continue to set high expectations for myself, because to me, to do otherwise is akin to being on a sail boat without a sail. My personal expectation of myself is to be a better me each day.

What do you think of this quote?

Have a marvelous Tuesday.
Priscilla

Leave a Reply

