“Until you try, you don’t know what you can’t do.” – Henry James

Positive Quote: “Until you try, you don’t know what you can’t do.” – Henry James

This quote is so simple, yet says so much. I cannot even hope to count how many times I have heard people say they can’t do something. When I ask them if they have ever tried, more often than not the response I get back is no, but it won’t work.

The quote has me asking myself how we as leaders can create an environment where it is safe to try and fail or safe to try and maybe halfway succeed. Is perfection the expectation? If so, is it realistic? Each work environment is different, there are ramifications to mistakes that can be quite severe, such as a pilot crashing a plane, an airline losing your luggage, a doctor operating on the wrong patient. While I know not all mistakes can lead to something like this, for quite a few jobs, they do. I think the challenge as a leader is to locate those areas where you can stretch your people in ways and with tasks or projects that if they make a mistake, there is a safety net in place. That safety net can be a peer review, a double check, an operating procedure, a status report, or touch base, and so many more types of support.

This quote also has me asking myself what new thing have I tried recently? Am I challenging myself, am I learning new things, and am I finding out what I can possibly do.

What do you think of this quote?

Have a marvelous Wednesday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

